Burnham & District Table Tennis Winter League MVP Winners 2024

As the Burnham & District Table Tennis Winter League reaches its climax, the standout players across the three divisions are being celebrated. The prestigious ‘MVP’ trophies are awarded to the athletes with the highest win rates in each division, provided they have participated in at least half of their team’s matches.

Division 1

In Division 1, the Peter Ballard Cup goes to Duncan Taylor, who boasts an impressive 92% win rate, losing only two individual matches all season. Taylor is a well-known figure in the Essex table tennis circuit and a regular competitor in league finals. His consistent performances for the Cold Norton A side have been a significant factor in their success.

Division 2

The Division 2 title and Brian Ellis Cup return to the familiar hands of Barrie Delf of Mapledene C, a previous winner of this trophy. Delf’s relentless style of play, with just two losses all season, has kept him well ahead of the chasing pack.

Division 3

The Division 3 race for the Roy Davis Cup was a tight one until the final rounds when the St. Lawrence duo of Steve King and Mike Pratley faltered. The eventual winner is Peter Davenport from Blackwater E, who finished with an impressive 88% win rate.

The league season concluded with a thrilling match between Maldon A and Woodham B in Division 1. Woodham B needed six points to avoid relegation and nine to leapfrog their opponents. Despite dropping the doubles, Sanjay Saptarshi and Dan Patynski won all their singles matches, securing the necessary six points for Woodham B. The final match of the season went to a dramatic five sets, with Eamonn Hall coming from behind to beat Lloyd Bennet-Smith, sealing a 7-3 victory for Woodham B.

🔗 Source