Driving Sustainable Development in Table Tennis with New ITTF Committee Members

The ITTF Sustainability Committee Welcomes New Talent to Drive Sustainable Development in Table Tennis

ITTF Welcomes Ryu Seung-min and Mayssa Bsaibes to Strengthen Sustainability Efforts

The International Table Tennis Federation (ITTF) Sustainability Committee recently welcomed two esteemed new members, Ryu Seung-min and Mayssa Bsaibes, to strengthen its efforts in championing a more sustainable future for the sport.

Both Ryu and Mayssa bring a wealth of expertise as members of the IOC Sustainability and Legacy Commission, which will prove invaluable in ITTF’s mission to build a more eco-friendly and inclusive table tennis ecosystem.

Ryu Seung-min: Leveraging Olympic Experience for Sustainable Development

Ryu Seung-min, the 2004 Olympic gold medalist, is a renowned figure in the table tennis community and the Olympic movement. Serving as the first Vice-Chair of the IOC Athletes’ Commission since 2021 and a member of the IOC Sustainability and Legacy Commission, he will lend his insights to ITTF’s sustainability initiatives. Additionally, as a member of the ITTF Executive Board and President of the Korea Table Tennis Association (KTTA), Ryu’s expertise in global table tennis development will be a significant asset.

Mayssa Bsaibes: Advocating for Gender Equality and Sustainability

Joining Ryu is Mayssa Bsaibes, an architect and former Lebanese table tennis champion who has transitioned her career to focus on her passion for sports. As a key member of the ITTF Foundation, Mayssa is currently pursuing a PhD that explores women’s representation and leadership in Lebanese sports, advocating for greater gender equality in the Middle East and Lebanon.

“ITTF Sustainability Committee Chair Mawuko Afadzinu and ITTF President Petra Sörling warmly welcomed the new members, encouraging them to bring their bold ideas and innovative thinking to the table in the quest for sustainable solutions for the table tennis table, table tennis clubs, and the sport as a whole.”

The new committee members, including UAE’s Majd Albalooshi, Australia’s Jan Fitzgerald, and Spain’s Daniel Valero, will ensure diverse global perspectives are represented in ITTF’s sustainability initiatives.

At the heart of ITTF’s vision is making table tennis accessible to all, for generations to come. The Federation’s mission prioritizes People, Planet, and Prosperity, aiming to strike a balance between environmental, social, and economic factors. As a signatory of the UNFCCC Sport for Climate Action Framework and a supporter of the Sport for Nature Framework, ITTF is committed to integrating sustainability into its operations and leading the table tennis community towards a more sustainable future.

🔗 Source